The Name Game (What to Call Your Troupe) – Elizabeth Knights

Posted: June 24, 2014 by lambentI2e in Information

Photo credit : Ian David Grindall

What’s in a name?  When it comes to performance troupes, a whole lot.  Choosing your group’s name (or your stage name if you’re a solo performer) may be one of the most important decisions you ever make, in part because, once you’ve committed to it and begun to associate your act with it, you’re kind of stuck with it.  But, fear not, I am here to guide you with what I consider to be the most important things to take into account while choosing a name.

I want to start off by saying that you certainly do not need to hit all of these bullet points, but use them as a flexible guide and try your best not to get discouraged.  It took my performing partner, Andrew, and I at least a year to come up with a name that satisfied us.  Admittedly, probably about 9 months of that was the fault of my pickiness.  Andrew would text me 20 different clever ideas, and I’d shoot them all down in Goldilocks fashion because they were never quite right.  The name we eventually chose, Cirque de Light, came to me during a particularly stormy brainstorming session, and as soon as it popped into my head, I knew it was the one.  Still, I proceeded to make sure it fit all of the criteria I will outline for you below, and when it passed all of those tests, I knew for sure, we had a winner.

See here for the full article.

Leave a Reply

